I’m really so tired that I can’t think, right now.

But writing is better than staring vacuously at the screen.  And I won’t remember anything tomorrow that I read for content, now.  I really should just go to bed…

Okay, compromise.  I just took my medication, which will ensure that I’ll only be functional until about 11:10, giving me an hour and a half to …probably either get ready for bed, or do something besides study, eat, or sleep.  I’m pretty sure that the difficulty in Cataloging has me somewhat depressed, because I slept over 12 hours last night and then lay down for an additional two, today, and I’m still tired.

It’s probably not fighting off whatever virus is going around at my work:  I’ve been staying hydrated (to prevent my membranes [e.g. throat, sinuses] from cracking) and washing up before eating…though the virus could be part of it, actually.  Depression increases vulnerability to infection.  Then there’s the regular biology stuff, which…could be playing a part, too.  And, well, I have a tendency to this.

I did do the graded exercise on Dewey Decimal Categorization.  I either missed two questions or got partial credit on two questions, but there were only six questions to speak of.  I’m just glad (and surprised) I got the correct answer on four of them.  I’ve had the idea of putting Dewey numbers on all of my personal library books (that is, the books I own which make up my “library”) as practice, but who would tell me if I was right?  I guess I could go to WorldCAT and try and find answers that way…that is, my DDC education doesn’t have to stop here, and I don’t have to resign myself to “just not getting it.”

Hmm.  Going to WorldCAT and then bridging into SFPL did give me the Dewey number of The mentalist’s handbook:  An explorer’s guide to astral, spirit, and psychic worlds.  Amazingly.  This could be doable…so long as the cataloging isn’t messed up on the other end(s).  Though I suppose I could always cross-reference the individual Dewey entries.  (Hey!  Now that I look on the inside of the front of the book, there is a number which matched SFPL’s Dewey number!  It just isn’t as elaborate…and it has a note, “–dc22” at the end, which may indicate the version of DDC used…)

I had planned on completing the work for Metadata today, but I just wasn’t up to it.  I did make it through three chapters, but I still have (most of) one more reading, and two lectures to listen to.  Good part?  I have two days off of work to help me catch up (although I didn’t realize that tomorrow was a holiday until sometime last week — that is, no one’s going in to work, as versus just me).  And then after Wednesday, I have another two days to work.

I severely need to do research for my Research Methodologies class, which I’ve done no work for, for too long (about a week and a half).  Then I can work on catching up with my lectures and readings for Cataloging (I’m two weeks behind).

Gah.

At least I won’t have to worry about going to work on Mondays, now.

As regards my state:  I’m a bit better now after listening to a bunch of music and browsing bead catalogs.  I should get ready for bed before I become entirely nonfunctional…

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

