Down time

I’m not kidding when I say that this is the first time I’ve been able to get back to the computer for the last 10 hours.  We’ve just had our Valentine’s Day night out…because I have a meeting on Tuesday night.  Why THAT night?  I don’t know.

But it does leave me with a lot of open time to catch up on classwork…though it will be work to get all this done before the 20th.  My classes all turn over on Mondays, now…but! Monday the 20th is the first day I’m going to have off of my job with regard to school.  This means that I have 5 days from morning to night, with nothing better to do than homework.  And exercise.  And hygiene.  And sleep.  And cleaning.

I am fairly certain at this point that I should be able to get through the next week-and-a-half.  There is the question of what kind of grade I’m going to get in Cataloging, especially as I’m behind (though that would, at this point, not be unusual [given that the Prof didn’t assign the right reading]); but I can’t worry about that, now.

As much as I know I need to work on my homework, I also know that I haven’t worked on either art or beading for quite a while.  My free time has largely been taken up with either sleep or exercise, or the increased need for hygiene that exercise entails.  Given, though, that even that could be seen as a necessity…particularly since the only reason for my weight gain has been medication-related and could become dangerous (it doesn’t show any sign of letting up, though I’m certain that part of the recent weight gain has to do with fat being converted to muscle, given that my waist size has gone down and my pants are getting looser)…I should really schedule in some time for breaks.

I do have a few books on painting checked out, right now — I wanted to learn more about underpainting (no one ever taught me this skill) — but I think that working in some way with beads will be a bit easier, at this moment.  After all, I look at my beads, and immediately start thinking of what I could make out of them.  This is not something which comes to me as easily with paints.  (Maybe somewhere in there lies the key as to the difference between design and art?)

As regards painting:  I’m also thinking that maybe I need to go back to drawing and rework my way into painting a bit more organically.  Drawing in monochrome kind of inspires working in color (pastel and/or aquarelles), which inspires working in paint.  Given that my major interest in painting is with colors, color mixing, and color dynamics, though, that leaves a lot undefined…maybe, too much.

Eh, maybe I’ll play around with the acrylic inks.  Just to see what I can get out of them.  Color mixing + Sharpie labeling, I guess.  It would be good to use a unique identifier for each swatch, too — that way, if I start mixing colors with already mixed colors, maybe I could keep them straight.  (Maybe it would be a good idea to work back into gouache, at that.)

It really kind of is annoying, though, that I have to use the disposable palette with the acrylic inks…(the inks will dry flat on a regular palette, and become impossible to remove without scraping the palette surface…obviously not a great idea on a cheap [easily engraved] plastic palette).  My painting teacher discouraged the use of these in my Painting classes, although the alternative was probably clogged drains in the atelier — from students rinsing partially-dried scraps of acrylic resin into the sink and not using a filter over the drain.  (I ended up donating two of these — too late.  Seriously, it would have been nice if someone had cleaned out the paint catcher so the sinks would stop flooding.)

I think I should try and work on my assignments first (after taking care of daily hygiene and possibly exercise) and then work at the arts and crafts after I get so full of reading that my mind is blank.  There is going to be a lot of reading, over the next week.  This isn’t so bad, but I have to prepare for my mind not functioning at its best after having taken in so much.

I have the bracelet project going, which should be fairly easy to get back into, or I could toy around with more micromacrame variants.  I still have that scarab pendant that I want to make into something, but I have very few examples of vitrail (it’s a lead crystal/glass finish) among all the beads I have, and I’m pretty sure that’s what the scarab is finished with.  I’m thinking of something involving multiple Lark’s Head sinnets, interwoven, with beads in between the rows of knotting.  It should look different than the last one I did (which was based on square knots), I think…but I won’t be able to tell for sure, until I attempt it.

Right now…I should be able to put in some time on the exercise bike, but I’m not sure if that will be too stimulating and keep me awake longer than I should be.  The alternative is reading, though.  Or, showering.  Or just going to bed, which I don’t want to do.

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

