Back to work!

These days off are starting to become an exercise in evading useless procrastination.  I have been able to convert today into useful procrastination, but still.

Sometime this afternoon, I was in bed and realized that I wasn’t tired anymore, and the only reason I actually was still in bed was because I didn’t want to work on the effing DDC homework.  Given that, I got up, and I’m pretty sure that what I did was start on the exercise bike and do some sit-ups.  Then I played around with a fitness game, ate dinner, and took a shower.  Now, here I am, about to restart the d*mn DDC homework.

I initially woke today at about 6 AM, listened to the lecture for Research Methodologies, then did some reading for Metadata which clarified that I have at least four chapters to read in about a week and a half.  I also ate some grapes and a tangerine, then went back to bed, to awake to a ringing phone and the above realization which prompted me out of bed.

I’ve found that hanging out in bed is probably the worst thing I can do, because it causes an even greater loss of time for me than what would occur if I were awake and just doing something I wanted to do (and not whatever I’m avoiding).  That is to say:  it’s very easy for time to slip away from me faster than I realize, when I’m asleep.

Within the next three days, I have 12 hours which are a total loss because I have to go to work.  The rest of the time, aside from sleep, hygiene, food, and exercise, is free…so I hope.

I’ll try and hack at this DDC homework some more now…I did skim over the lecture which this work is linked to, and apparently I just have to read the notes really really closely and not skim them (which is what I’ve been doing, because most of it doesn’t matter).  Even when the notes don’t make sense.

H*ll, at least I’ve realized that I don’t have to add in the Table number along with the number specified in the Table…(complicated, confusing story; sorry I mentioned it)…

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

