Preparing for freedom

As difficult as it is, I’m going to try and think about something not related to Finals.

One of those things is that I have made a date to go and claim one of my pieces which was formerly on display.  It should feel good to be reunited, again!  This was one of the first large pieces in acrylic paint which I did, and one of the first in which I worked quickly enough to be able to shade wet-into-wet.  Unfortunately, it is made with acrylic gesso on plywood, the combination of which is an apparently unforgiving surface to natural hog-bristle brushes (it gradually wears away the fibers until you get a little stub-brush).

I’ll wait to show the photo I have of it, again, until I can get it back.  I wonder if the paint has faded at all, after all this time?

Hmm.  In other news, the organization of the craft area has been shifted around again.  I had been using the craft table as a place to deposit library books (because of the dirt issue; the craft table can take heavy cleaning).  But now, M and I are sharing the same space.  It shouldn’t be much of a problem once I move back into using my easel, but it was nice to have a space in front of the window, while I had it.

And the little baby succulent along the walkway is dying.  😦  I’ve decided not to interfere, though; much for the same reason as I decided not to dig it up in the first place:  I don’t want to shock it.  Really, a life in the soil seems better than life in a pot, even if it does end up dying.

I don’t know what that says about me?

Anyhow, 🙂 the yard is looking rife for planting.  Most of our grass and ground cover is dead because of the drought and watering restrictions, though now the major issue is that it’s cold and wet, most of the time.  Not freezing, yet, but very cold, especially at night.  It would be nice to get in there and really aerate the soil, and put in some little plants.  I don’t think it would be many; just, some.

Hmm.  Maybe I should figure out which?  The little succulent thing looks like it’s dying from too much water, plus something physically nicked it — I can’t tell what, from here.  Although I did want to plant a little succulent garden, I’m unsure that’s a wise option now, with the rainy season here.

I have always liked pepper plants, though.  Maybe some kind of chile?  Mint (though mint would likely take over the yard)?  Maybe Lemon Verbena, eh?  Chocolate Mint!

I have tried to grow Chocolate Mint before, and it ended up dying from a combination of humidity and heat on my windowsill, leading to mildew and mites.  After the webbing and moving speckles came, I did just toss it, sorry to say.  In an exterior environment, though, mites would have predators, and wouldn’t be able to overwhelm a plant so easily.  Push comes to shove, I can pick up a handful of ladybugs and set them loose.  🙂  Which, probably everyone would like.  🙂

(It’s weird, though:  Chocolate Mint actually does smell like chocolate and mint!  Of course, though, I have no idea what to actually use Chocolate Mint for…)

And, no…I do not know the spiritual difference between an aggressive plant and a non-aggressive one, though I know the Mint family has always felt joyous, to me.  I just know that they (the mints, including Spearmint, Peppermint, and Chocolate Mint; plus Lemon Verbena, etc. — they look similar, are fragrant, and have square stems) are aggressive and will kill other species so they can grow.  This is the reason I’ve been hesitant to plant them before; mint spreads by runners and can take over native habitat, IIRC…and this area is native habitat for California Poppies (an endangered species, for those not in-the-know).

And actually, now that I’m thinking of it, it’s also native habitat for Miner’s Lettuce, which is edible (I mentioned this, probably some years ago, now).  But Miner’s Lettuce needs shade and lots of water, to thrive.  It does die back in the dry season, but comes back just as readily when it rains.  (I should check and see if it came back in a nearby yard…)

According to M, the front yard is actually suitable for edibles.  There has been spraying of RoundUp in the past, but I don’t think it was in that area; rather, I think it was on the weeds in the back lot.  I can confirm with D.

Yeah, I guess a big patch of dead ground is just waiting to be cared for, eh?

Aside from that, I have gradually pulled off of the guitar practice.  It was good until I just became too busy to even think about guitar.  The good thing, though, is that guitar is an alternate soother to me than tea and chocolate (I did set myself up with chocolate, for this week!  It calms me down and keeps me awake to do work).  I think the real kicker is that my guitar — no lie — sounds like a harp.

I mean, seriously, my guitar sounds like a harp.

I do still have a little toughness to my fingertips on the fret hand, so I could probably play a little bit if I wanted to.  But:  I just have to make it through Monday, and then things will be all set.  I just have to remember to make it through to Monday.

On Monday, or Tuesday…I should make a date to do some ink drawings (Copic and Micron), and try the new acrylic inks over the top of them.  My notes have started to have little mandala drawings and line drawings which are…kind of interesting!  Also, I have two new watercolor journals (one small and one large), so I have the space to do this.

Coming up, I will also want to mine my photographic records and blog entries, for inspiration as regards what to put on the 30″x30″ canvas I have had out for months now, on my easel.  I know I want to do something plant-related; I’m just not sure exactly what.  There are a number of images I have which could inspire something, but I’m not used to working loosely — which is kind of a requirement with heavy-body acrylic paint.

Maybe I should just remember the feel of a brush gliding over canvas, though, and set my mind to enjoy that, rather than thinking of what I want my finished painting to look like (like I can predict that?).

I…did start an interesting project in one of my Art Journals (I did this when I could no longer bear to think about school, or life).  Maybe I can draw inspiration from that…

…and maybe I should be working in that journal, now, and consistently…so I don’t have to rearrange the symbology in my photos…

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

