How many days to go? …6?

I’m trying not to get too bogged down with the whole work + school thing.  Although I have made an interesting observation:  this is that Library School is in actuality having a job which I pay for which will teach me job skills so I will be able to get a better-paying job, once it’s over.

Yeah, well — maybe not “in actuality,” but it helps me to think of it this way.  Instead of having a 40-hour work week, I have an 18-hour commitment to my job, and a 30-hour commitment to school.

1 hour per unit x 3 units = 3 hours per week, homework, for each unit

each class = 3 units = 9 hours per week homework

3 classes at 3 units each = 27 hours per week homework

+1 hour lecture per class per week = 30 hours of study per week, total.

So basically, I have to be prepared to work a 48-hour week.  This isn’t as bad as it would seem, when I factor in that my commute is, on average, very short.  🙂

I do kind of wonder sometimes if it’s worth it, though.  The big reason to stay in the program is that I am hoping that I won’t have to worry about being “conventional enough.”  Plus, I actually am being exposed to knowledge that I didn’t even know existed.  As far as…working as an Information Professional is concerned, it is really interesting.  But it’s fairly evident to me at this point in my LIS career that I am not well-suited to be a Librarian — at least, not one in a Public Library system.

In particular, the classes I have taken so far which have been Library-focused (that is, service-focused) have mostly been either uncomfortable, or blatant turn-offs.  This is for various reasons, but largely…people who have been representatives of the ALA (in my classes, not in my workplace) have tended to strike me as idealistic and myopic (sorry to say).  Maybe it’s the, “American,” part of, “American Library Association,” which I’m grating against.  I can deal with the ideology so far as respecting others goes, but that doesn’t mean I want to give up myself, my own experience, my own hard-won ethics, to become it.  (this would actually tend to point a finger at the ALA’s low percentage of “minority” members…)

I do have to get going in a few minutes; I will try and find the book I checked out before on options for using a MLIS degree which are outside of the Library system; I think it will be useful.

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

