Computer failure

I am not thinking that many of my group members are checking this blog:  but last night, I realized that being locked out of the Start Menu on Windows 10 meant that I had no access to MS Word or WordPad, either.  (Searching was disabled.  Cortana was disabled.  The freakin’ date and time function was disabled.  The Action Center was disabled.  But I could still get online!–)

We tried various fixes we found online which were meant to work around the Start Menu not functioning; none of them worked.  We ended up reinstalling the OS from nothing, because I didn’t make a recovery disk, because I didn’t think that one day I would get an update which would disable key functions of my machine.

Until I hit the lack of access to any text-recording programs (meaning I had to switch to Google Docs for note-taking — I accidentally wiped out most of a response by accidentally hitting Ctrl+W, then intended to Copy+Paste my working document into a text program…UNTIL I COULDN’T FIND ONE…), I was planning to just try and deal with it until a fix became available.  But I couldn’t even pin an icon into the Taskbar.

The good part is that I still have all my files, but I now have to reinstall all my programs — and hope that the installs are clean.

From what I can tell, this was the effect of the Windows Update I got two days ago, corrupting my system files.  I had a Windows 10 machine which was upgraded from Windows 7.  The other Windows 10-native machines weren’t as negatively affected.

If Macs didn’t cost ~3x as much for a comparable system, and no one in my immediate family could help me AT ALL if something screwed up with it, I’d be looking more seriously at Apple.

And, yes, I have heard that there is another Windows Update going on right now, indicated by the fact that I got a notice on my secondary device, that I was almost out of disk space and did I want to delete the prior version of Windows 10?…(wait, and what OS was I supposed to use after this took place?)

Anyhow, I haven’t worked on school stuff all day because I’m kind of scared to access school using my mobile device…as it is not definite that the system failure was NOT a result of hacking, viruses, or malware.  I have found no evidence of any of the latter three options, however.  And I’ve been told that I’m not the only person with this problem.

The good thing is that I think I have until early next week before anything is due.  Gah.

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

