Life goes on…will my passion become a hobby?

Well, the good thing is that I don’t have to go back in to work until Wednesday.  Plus, the only thing due today is completing one of my readings, which I’m already halfway through.  Because I’ve been setting up a new device, I haven’t been able to get much work done, though.  That is to say:  I have a new homework machine, and pretty much all of yesterday was spent getting it secured and up to speed.

The somewhat troubling thing is that I haven’t made time for art-making since the semester started, a week and a half ago.

I’ve just gotten through cruising the “gouache” tag, here…which at least is enough to remind me what gouache is and how it behaves and how it’s typically used, making me wonder whether I want to try it, again.  What I have is about nine years old at this point, though (ha), and it isn’t worth it to get new paints in that medium, too, if I’m not going to use them.  (Gouache, from what I hear, actually has a shelf life.)

The nice thing about gouache…well, there are a number of nice things…but it is flat and opaque; the “set” I bought in 2007 was all sourced from suppliers who did not add opaquing agents to their paints.  If I’m recalling correctly, this was Winsor & Newton, Holbein, and — I’m thinking — M. Graham & Co.; the latter of which, I bought without knowing that honey was part of the formulation.  Then again, all I bought from them was a Payne’s Grey, which I ended up not using much of.

Right now, though, I do have the acrylics and the acrylic pads, in addition to a few blank canvases.  If I didn’t have to worry about getting paint on the carpet (my reasoning for not starting this project sooner:  I have to cover the floor, or move my easel), I could start the abstract that I’ve been wanting to work on.  I recall, however, that this is a pattern I get into which short-circuits my visual work:  I get too caught up in the original image to feel that I could ever get it “exactly” that way on canvas, and my perfectionism keeps me from starting.  Then I start finding reasons not to start.

It’s the same thing that happened with the succulent drawing I posted some months ago (Yapha), where to get started at all (after two or three weeks of delaying), I just had to begin something.  That “something” was a tracing, which then clarified to me that I didn’t have to get the details exactly as they were in the original observation.  The substance wasn’t in mimicry of shape, though to be clear I am not entirely certain how to deduce content and what matters from a source image.

With observation, it’s easier.  With a photograph?  Not so much.  I think it’s really a tripping-out thing, though, where when there already is an image there, I/we start to think that if we worked perfectly, our final image would look like the photograph, and that isn’t actually the case.

It looks like dinner is about to be ready, so I’ll wrap this up and try and finish my reading, tonight.  Tomorrow, I’ll need to start on my reading for my database course, and complete my spreadsheet for that class.

I’ll also need to work on some scheduling for my schoolwork and classwork, as well; so that I actually will have time reserved, to make art.

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

