Note to myself to post tomorrow:

I don’t have a lot of time to write tonight before my brain stops working.  I will, though, attempt to post at least this to remind myself that I worked on three pages of my small Wet Media sketchbook today.  If tomorrow turns out not to be busy, I should have time to photograph what I’ve done and touch up what I didn’t finish.

One of the compositions I did is an abstract in Neocolor II crayons with graphite and a waterbrush.  The next page is the one in which I realized that in using the Neocolors, unless I’m very light with my hand and scrub with my brush, building up the crayon layer by layer, variations in pigment density and a rough look are pretty much part of the medium — emphasizing brushstrokes and texture actually helps, here.

A smooth look, on the other hand, would be obtained with watercolors…which I have been wondering about loading into one of those tins.

On that page, I remembered as well that my ballpoint pen might work with my waterbrush to create (smooth) washes; so I started drawing in the place I found myself.  This was totally without pencil, so there are some things which should have blocked out other areas of the drawing which are transparent.  🙂  Nevertheless, I really surprised myself with that.

The next page was a view through a set of doors and out a window.  I realized here that because the pen I was using was one which is supposed to not wash off of checks, the longer I let it dry, the lighter my washes became.  I still need to do some work with the value ranges on this one, but from here (looking at this from a side angle), it actually looks surprisingly alright.

This was from almost exactly two hours devoted to nothing but art.

I should get some rest, now.  I really don’t even know who will be up to read this…

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

