Macrame net

I didn’t actually get to show this piece at the flash gallery which happened at the end of Spring Semester 2016 — I was so sick that all I was able to do was simply get through the last two weeks.  I was, however, able to take a picture of this piece which was not marred by reflections.

2684w
Macrame net

The main reason I didn’t post this earlier on is that I was having some issues with people being able to see my reflection in the glass of the shadow box it had been installed within.

For the Artist Talk at the end of class, however, it was strongly recommended that I take this piece out of its frame and photograph it, without shadows or reflections.

This piece…probably took about three hours to do.  Not too bad, but there are some things I wish I had done differently.

For one thing, the paper-cuts behind it are made with 12″x12″ scrapbooking paper.  This is not something I expect to really age well.  I do like the colors, especially with the seed beads (the teal ones) which I placed on the lines.  (The white beads are large-hole freshwater pearls.)  Because of the way this is made, the macrame itself can be lifted off of the background and put onto a more fade-resistant tinted paper.

I didn’t have as much time as I would have liked to assemble this, though — a common complaint from me through the entire semester.  I really feel like things were rushed.

What I do like about this is that I was able to take my knowledge from crochet and macrame and make something passably elegant and/or original.  I do have a few macrame books here which are instructional in nature, but this was intentionally my own design, and incorporated a feeling of randomness as it grew.

I did try and make a trial piece before embarking on this one, but I used a cheap hemp twine (unlike the one above) which broke near the center of the knotting (to my disappointment/anger).

In any case, I guess I’ll let you all play with what you think it means.  🙂  I may or may not have mentioned its concept in backposts…I honestly can’t remember.  But this was one of the pieces for my Symbol project in Creative Process, this last semester.

I’m kind of torn as to whether I should keep working on the 2-D art, or, now that I no longer have that requirement, dive back into the beadwork and risk losing the technical ability that I’ve built up through drawing and painting over the last several semesters.  (Of course, I am intentionally holding off until I can get my painting setup straight.)

If you ask me what I really want to be doing, it’s jewelry design and screwing around with beads.  But that doesn’t really pay the bills…and it can be easily copied, plus it isn’t very highly respected.  I kind of feel addicted to beads, though…

And yeah, I …still kind of do want to become a jewelry designer…

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

2 thoughts on “Macrame net”

Leave a Reply

