I think I made it through, alright.

Yays!

I have now completed Spring semester.  Ultra good part?  I’ve completed the requirements for my AA!  Now I have a Summer to pursue my own studies, before heading back to the iSchool in Fall.  This will be three years long, at maximum.   But three years isn’t really that long, in the scheme of things.

What’s up before me is re-centering work, and study to further work.  I’ve been doing some reading, and it really seems that getting a Library Science degree would be a good thing.  I happen to fall into a number of categories which predispose me to be more likely to live in poverty, once “independent.”  Given this, it would seem that even if I did become a Public Librarian specializing in serving an Adult/Young Adult populace, it’s a lot better than not going for the Master’s and losing that potential career path.

My Creative Process prof directed me to look at organizations which aligned with my interests, whom I might be able to intern for, and then get a job using my writing and art skills to help them.  This was the answer given to the question of how I can use my writing and art skills to help me survive (monetarily — they help me survive psychologically as a given), without violating my ethics.

There are a number of organizations I can look at helping — top of the list, for me, are organizations who serve non-straight and non-cisgender populations; organizations which serve people of color (particularly women of color), and organizations which serve those with disabilities.  There are actually likely to be a lot of these around where I live.  I’ll need to do some research, but there are a number of organizations which I’ve already started to list.

Seems like it would be intense, though!

Right now, I’m not sure whether to decompress or do art.  Or, both…

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

2 thoughts on “I think I made it through, alright.”

Leave a Reply

