Why is there so much going on???

So…today has been productive.  Amazing to say that, but yeah.

I did confirm my admission to the Master’s program, today.  I also uploaded a bunch of pictures from my gallery walk with my small group.  This required photo editing (though this was largely cropping and compressing file sizes, to the point that zipping the folder did nothing).  That part…that was just surprise work.  Like, “oh hey, this oral presentation is due in two weeks,” you know?

Next class will be our only chance to prepare in person during class time, and I realized that my classmate who had uploaded things to the cloud and let me know last week, hadn’t seen any of my photos.  It’s up in the air as to whether she or I prepare the visuals for the presentation, though we should both have access, now.  I can’t even remember what we are supposed to talk about…I’ll have to check my handouts.  I just know it’s about 2-3 minutes each, to talk; 7-10 total.

The Museum paper is due the day after tomorrow.  I’ve started doing research on this…there’s a lot more going into what we saw than was apparent at the Museum.  I still haven’t found anything referencing the specific work we looked at, first…and I need to figure out just how much outside information I’ll need for this paper.  A research paper is different than a response paper; and until now, all of them have been response papers.  I’ll see what I can do.

There is a Body and/or Humor project coming up, though I’ll really need to see when it’s due, because I wasn’t paying attention earlier.  I am pretty sure that I know what I’m going to do for that one, though.  I won’t give it away, because then it will have less impact when I actually present it.  😉  It has to do with having a body coveted for its racialization, from a very nonwhite standpoint; I’ll say that.

And, right:  I did upload the last project I’ve been working on, today (you’ve seen a bit of it in this blog, already — the ink drawings that are ready for watercolor).  Already mentioned that bit, though.

I still need to finish that watercolor of the street, and maybe start a new one to replace the one I didn’t do when I was absent last week — or, wait until Thursday and see what my prof wants me to do.

I also still need to photograph, process and print what I’ve been doing in Figure Drawing for my end-of-semester portfolio, due in 4 weeks if not 3 (not to mention Watercolor; I only have hard copies for most of that work), and there are likely some Sketchbook assignments that I need to work on as homework, as well.  (I’m supposed to have 2-3 hours a week of homework, which I’m not used to because I delayed so long on the Sketchbook assignments in the first half of class.)

I should really get working on those Sketchbook assignments.

At this point, there are only five weeks left, max.  There is going to be a flash gallery showing at the end of the semester, and we’ve each been asked to submit a piece.  I already am pretty sure of which piece I will submit, because it’s one I can let go of, and it’s one which looks nice in presentation.  The only problem will be if someone breaks it, intentionally or not — though I can handle it if it gets ruined.

Speaking of letting go of things, I need to get one of my pieces back from last semester…

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

