Lowering expectations…sometimes, it actually can help.

(Especially when you expect too much of yourself.)

Today M helped release a pressure valve by telling me that I didn’t have to add color to all of my pieces, for tomorrow.  They said that what I had done was a lot of work in itself.  (Maybe I just set my standards too high.)

I was, however, able to finish a second version of my Artist’s Statement, which Prof had recommended we turn in tomorrow.  Now I only have three things to worry about:  oral presentation for same class, Museum paper for same class, and the watercolor I didn’t want to do the other day which I still have to finish for Thursday.

I’m not sure that last one is going to get done:  my work schedule is somewhat horrendous for the rest of this week.  I am not sure that prof actually grades things when we look at them for Critique, though, as versus when we have portfolio reviews.

I’m just at the point of being annoyed with school, don’t mind me.

Well, and the camera on my phone which I don’t know how to focus and which always takes blurry shots.

I did prep some photos for you all, though:

2398w
Rock pigeon wing (from taxidermy)

This one is the underside of a Rock Pigeon wing which I saw at the museum (I’ve learned to convert these to greyscale to prevent color overlays).  I had originally set my sight on a Crow, but then I realized that I would be drawing black-on-black, and why was I making things harder for myself, etc.

With this one and some of the others, I’m really amazed at the depth of value which is possible with just graphite (though I’ve been told that after 6B, charcoal starts to be added to the leads).  I really can’t recall whether I used sticks softer than 6B here, though it’s likely I did.

Another thing I’m really amazed at is the fact that my guidelines (in HB graphite) are only barely visible in this photo.  Maybe what seems obvious to me, isn’t obvious once higher-contrast elements are added.

I did a lot of work with wings, on Sunday.  Unfortunately in the above, I didn’t contextualize my drawing with the fact that there was a body attached to the wing…

2397w
Mourning Dove wing (closed). I’m still kind of amazed at how working in Watercolor has introduced me to defining objects with light.

This wing was nice to be able to get up close to.  We have Mourning Doves all over the place here, but they spook easily, and tend to freak me out when they fly away.  (They suddenly jump up, clap their wings over their back, and a whistling noise comes from their feathers…which I thought was coming from their throats until I read otherwise at the Museum.)

I was actually more careful to define each individual feather here, as versus with the pigeon wing, where I was generalizing, “many feathers, with these characteristics, and that weird out-of-place feather I should include.”  It’s the approach that I’ve had to take with a lot of highly detailed work in order to avoid driving myself batty.

I am a detail-oriented person, but still:  sometimes the details are too much.  I photographed a tree in bloom outside, and realized after looking at the image that I would not be able to work an image from it in watercolor, anytime soon.  It’s just too complicated.  Kind of like this one (which I’m sharing because I know for a fact that I am not going to make any art out of this anytime soon):

2261w
COMPLICATED…

Yeah, …that.

See what I mean?  HOW WOULD I RENDER ALL OF THAT?

Geesh.  Maybe I wouldn’t have as much of a problem with it if I weren’t struggling with perfectionism as it is…

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

