Color usage

I’ve got about half an hour to write, here.  I’m really wishing I had brought my papers to draw out the Series assignment…it would be nice to be able to work on it, now.

Although the particular piece I’m working on — I can feel the energy of it, and it’s making me a bit more edgy than usual — was originally somewhat disturbing, I think that the way that I’ve got it in my sketch works out somewhat harmoniously.

Without really realizing it, I made a number of oval and round shapes which all draw the eye towards an orb in the center of the composition.  This piece does utilize perspective, but it’s more surrealist in tone.  I’m not sure whether to carry this theme through the rest of the pieces.  For that matter, I’m not sure whether to color it realistically or via a different approach.

What I can or maybe should do is work out a number of different color layouts.  I didn’t anticipate color placement being the bulk of my work, here…I can draw well, that’s not a problem; my composition as regards shape and line and motion is fine; but the Drawing classes I’ve taken haven’t really taught much at all around how and when to use color.  The upper sections of the combined-section classes are free to do so, but there hasn’t been any instruction in it.  My painting classes have touched the surface, but I feel like there’s a lot more depth in here that needs study and which would help me if I knew what it was.

On top of that; going by the Dewey Decimal system, there are at least two separate Color Theory and use sections at my library.  As…I’m actually mixing my own colors and not doing something like Interior Design, perhaps I know which one to visit first…

Going to do so, now.

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

