More referenced drawings:

Taking a break, as I’ve found that sitting on the floor drawing, isn’t the best thing for my back!

I went over that piece which draws off of Durer’s with a 6B graphite stick.  It looks a lot better, now:

after-Durer,-2087w-6B
After Durer (1506), using a 6B graphite stick this time for the darkest shadows.  This was also photographed in full sun, hence the bluish tint.

Because I did that exercise, I can see that if I wanted to do a comic in graphite, I should be able to set up my digital camera to take proofs.  For some reason — and it may be obsolete, as the copier/printer which had this issue is no longer in service — my scanner used to misread graphite pretty badly.  (Possibly from the reflectivity?)  This isn’t an issue, however, with the camera.  I would need to learn new Digital Photography skills then, though, and set up a photo booth.  At least now I know it’s possible.

after-Sargent,-2104w
After Sargent (1875).

You can (I can) kind of tell that I used to be a person who drew in manga style before entering Fine Arts classes, here.  This is after John Singer Sargent.  Because it was a looser style, this one was relatively easy to do.  I screwed up another one of the busts I was referencing today, so I won’t show you that one (I used too dark of a pen for cross-hatching), but there are two other drawings:  one I did today, the other yesterday (and completely forgot about).  They are both from one preparatory drawing of Sargent’s.

after-Sargent,-2092w
After Sargent, 1903-16.
after-Sargent,-2094w
after Sargent, 1903-16.  The toes on the right should be a bit more spread out, but I didn’t notice until a late stage in the drawing.

I think I’ve got it in me to try an attempt at my last referenced image.  After that, it will all be life drawing from then on out.

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

