Apparently, I’m not keeping up with posting WIPs here…

I feel like I’ve been relatively quiet; it’s because I’ve been working.

I completed three drawings today, which overall took about 1.5-2 hours (30 minutes each for the first two, an hour for the third).  These were spaced out with my making some cornbread, due to a lack of ready-made food.

If I keep going at this rate, I will probably be fine — unless, that is, I get called in to work to substitute for someone.  What I was surprised about is that two of my images were completed after a full work day, which is not something I had anticipated happening.

Yesterday…I didn’t draw because I was busy looking up source images in one of the databases.  And, I talked with my siblings, which took up some time, but it was good to spend the time that way.  I got the idea from emailing with my prof that she doesn’t necessarily want us to use her handouts as source images for our referenced drawings; hence, the research last night.

Right now, I’ve done 5 out of 16 total drawings (not counting the clothing assignment, which I still need to revisit — after, that is, I finish everything else).  I have a hard time working after the sun goes down, though; so I opted to go with that and post here, at this time.

I actually haven’t even stopped to photograph or scan any of my drawings, so far.  What I know is that, somehow, they’re coming out looking decent.  I really don’t know how my brain draws so well, but it happens.

Right now I’m torn between doing photography in poor light, going to eat dinner, and drawing some more.  The positive thing is that I know now that if I can allocate 2 hours a day to just purely drawing, I’ll be OK.

I still haven’t gone back in with my grayscale pastels on Part C of my Creative Process assignment, though that seems fairly straightforward.  I don’t think I would expect to spend more than 2-6 hours on that…depending on how it goes.  My prof wanted me to go back in with a lot more layers of pastel.  I’ve been hesitating on that because it isn’t the end of the world if I don’t get that done on time, but working on the portfolio is relatively urgent.  It’s just a lot of work, and it’s nearly the only thing I’m graded on…so, yeah…it’s important.

11 more drawings to go (plus my Narrative Background piece and the clothing assignment and the Part C thing).  I’m not sure whether to use Sargent as my second reference (again) or to choose another image.

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

