Wow, I hate to fail. Just, wow.

So…I’m going to seriously have to work on my drawing on Monday.  I’ve got the outline of a scene, and the composition will probably be nice if I do it the way I originally intended to do it.  I’m using some really nice paper which I think is 11″X14″…Right now, it’s taped down to a piece of Hardbord (which takes water better than generic Hardboard, I’ve found).  I’m planning on finishing up what I can of the linework, tomorrow.  I’m uncertain as to whether I want or need to outline everything.  I kind of want to see what it looks like with just colors.

What may not be done by Tuesday night is the color work — I may need to get another palette in which I can lay out all of my colors, and that will likely take up the morning.  The palette only really costs between $4 and $6 (YA•SU•TO•MO YAAA), so it’s not going to break the bank, but it will take a bit of time to go out and get the thing — with prep, that’s probably about two hours out of my day.

(Okay, sorry, I have only recently realized that the wonderful palette I got years and years ago is now being made by Yasutomo.  At the time, it was an expensive palette.  Now, though?  Not so much.)

I should not miss Figure Drawing to work on coloring my image — the time with the model is too valuable.  But it’s tempting.  I have been told, though, that if I have to turn an assignment in late, bring what I do have completed to class, anyway.  I’m definite that it will be done by the end of the coming week, and I’ll be able to resubmit it for grading by the class after next.

On top of that, I was able to secure accommodations, the key one of which (nearly the only one that is applicable or matters) was extended time on assignments.  So, I don’t have to run myself into the ground trying to get this done by Tuesday morning, which is nice — because I probably won’t be able to pull an all-nighter on Monday evening.  If I skipped taking care of myself, I could do it, but it’s really not worth it; I’d be scattered for the next two days, at least.

I also found out another reason why I could have been tired yesterday.  I woke up early this morning with a cough, but was not awake enough to actually get up and drink anything to stop coughing.  By now, the cough has died down, but I’m still not feeling myself at 100%.  I’m pretty sure that whatever this cough is, though, it is making the circuits.  Last week and the week before, there were people coughing all over the place at my work; though truth be told, I probably picked it up somehow on public transit.  Particularly, that time when I ate after I’d touched the railing on the inside of the car.

sigh.

And I was doing so well, too.

Anyhow, now I have a touch of whatever everyone else has.  Don’t need to fear anything now, for I am one of them.

And, I just realized that I will actually need to get a piece of toned paper for Tuesday (I was unable to find both shades I needed anywhere, earlier in the semester).  I think the color I’m searching for is “Stone” (I need to verify this)?  That determines the place I need to visit first:  the big-box store did not have it, and has not had it at any time I’ve gone in there during this semester.

I’m also debating whether to get a stronger Ultramarine in watercolors — it might help, and it would probably be around $8 for a small tube.

At this point, though, I’m really not sure I know how to use color-mixing with watercolor, to the degree that I’ll be able to make a composition which looks okay.  What I do know is that I can use a grisaille technique with my Ivory Black and just go over all the shadows and lowlights with diluted black pigment.  It should be less permanent than using Sumi ink.  Then maybe I can go in with Ultramarine, and just kind of work my way through the hues?  Not sure.

Ehhh…I like working with the colors, but the colors are also my weak point.  I’m good at drawing, but I’ve only had two semesters of painting, not counting Color Dynamics (which used gouache).  Hmm.

I was told that it’s okay even if we do fail at this stage, because we take what we’ve learned from that, into the final project.

Gah.  I hate to fail, though.  But I guess it means that I’m taking risks? which is a good thing?  I think that it’s likely that the reason I’m writing this instead of drawing right now is that I’m kind of avoiding doing work where I don’t know what I’m doing…and this is probably going to come up again, on Monday.

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

