Brain dump!!! (sorry…)

I think it may be time to reassess what I really want to do with this blog.  Is it a career-search log?  Is it an art showcase?  Is it a personal space to record what happens in my day-to-day life?  Is it an interactive forum?

As I’ve been in my capstone class, which is about creative process, I’ve noticed how much this blog has helped me to keep track of daily fluctuations in creativity; concerns and worries; and, after all that, my creative process.  For me, it’s really given that what I want or need to do with my life is also a creative project.

It’s…just kind of tough to get a meta perspective while I’m down in the trenches, doing the work.

I have recognized, though, that the process of blogging has put me somewhat ahead of the learning curve when it comes to the creative-process course.  The biggest questions for me are, how and why, and how do I keep this blog functional, in that sense?

[Just to let you know, I diverged into talking about current creative process, in the below.]

I’ve been trying not to give away my professors’ lesson plans, which is why I haven’t posted, say, my color mixing charts from Watercolor.  (Well, that, and I’m not sure anyone else would be interested.)

Right now, that class is going fine.  It’s only two units, and the teacher is laid-back and very encouraging.  Most recently, we were drawing and painting boxes; if I have the time, I might work on redoing assignments.  I basically have two completed exercises, but there’s a part of me that wants to engage more fully than I’m required to.

As for my Creative Process class…I have something that I will be able to finish by tomorrow evening.  I just had to think outside of the box to be able to do something that wouldn’t take a lot of time and would be some kind of a statement on my topic.  But I’m really not used to having an idea in advance and then working at something to fit the concept.  I generally work more organically and decide what it means, after I’m done.  🙂

What I’m doing for that class is basically a macramé net.  I felt the need to go outside of doing what a book would tell me to do, so I made it circular, and added beads (large-hole potato pearls {unintentionally ugly} and size 6/0 seed beads).  I need to attach another round of cords, though, and finish off the outer edges, plus figure out the background.

I also might want to glue the pearls in place, paint or use markers on the hemp, darken that navy-blue background with a black marker toward the bottom [thank you, brain] and possibly white marker for light filtering down, embellish what I’ve got with embroidery thread and more pearls, and possibly find a 12″x12″ display case, tomorrow.

I really wish I’d thought out the design more fully before I attempted the final assignment — this would have looked great with more seed beads toward the center of the net, but I was still working hard just keeping the cords even!

Conceptually…I still have to figure out what I’m going to say in class, on Tuesday.  It would have helped if I’d taken more notes at the initial stages of considering this.  Macramé is one of those crafts which, like other forms of knotting, and knitting, was associated with mariners in old days.  The pearls are a link to the story that I’ve been wanting to write around this concept of water.  The piece itself looks like it could be the start of a fishnet.  It should be contrasted against a navy-blue background, which I’m not sure I should embellish with paper-cuts, or not.  The piece is linked to deriving something from the oceans, or a giving from the oceans (as water gives life on land) but I haven’t worked out the implications of that fully, yet.

But yes.  Tomorrow (late) I can go to the craft store, look for a 12″x12″ case, and see if there are any papers which would help me.  I should have colored card stock here, as well.

For Figure Drawing, I have found a book on self-portraits which should very much help with my first assignment.  The only reason I found it was luck, though — our library catalog pretty much isn’t easily searchable, and I’m not sure how it’s meant to be used.  I’d say it was arcane, but that implies that it’s old.  Really, I just think it isn’t designed in a user-friendly manner.  It’s trying to be user-friendly, and that’s the point that makes it hard for me to find what I’m looking for.

Tomorrow, I’ll try finishing my macramé piece, and do some looking through that self-portrait book.  I’ve finished my required reading for the quiz, tomorrow.  I will probably, if I have time, want to get started on the self-portrait assignment as well.

On Wednesday, I’ll really have to get down to start working on my Sketchbook assignments, including but perhaps beyond the self-portrait.  Ah — and, I’ll need to work on my second experimental piece for my Creative Process class.

The thing I haven’t done as much as I should have is work in my art journal.  I think we’re supposed to go and work in it every day, but I’ve been lagging on that.  It could just be my process (as this blog supplements my art journal), or it could be that I’m not taking this seriously enough.  I’m not sure.

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

