That cyclamen piece…

I totally didn’t know these were cyclamens, when I took this photo.  I was just like, “hey!  Weird!  Cool!  I gotta photograph this!”

fleurs-crop-72
Cyclamens???

Anyhow, this is the source photo (of the “inside-out flowers”) that I was trying to use for my Ashe piece, a few weeks ago, now.

I do have an initial try to capture this piece, but I really don’t feel that it does the composition justice.  My line drawing and placement of the flowers was really strong, but I just didn’t have enough time to work in all the detail that I think I would have needed to, in order to make the image stronger.

Also, when I was speaking about this in class, I confused Yemaya (an Orisha) with Erzulie (a Loa).  The former goddess comes from Yoruba religion; the latter, from Voodoo.

So…this photo really seems, to me, to conjure up some feeling that I relate to my interpretation of Erzulie.  However, I don’t know enough about Voodoo or its origins to be able to claim that Ashe (a Yoruba concept) is a concept which applies, here.  I really should have looked up Yemaya and made sure that what I was thinking was the case, actually was.  Instead, I ran off of familiarity and forgot entirely about the fact that I’d been researching Voodoo at some point, and you can see in a few places on this blog, how my memory can kind of run and mash things together.  🙂

Since I keep talking about this composition…I figured I’d let you all know what I was talking about.  Now that I see the image another time, I am thinking that maybe this is an image which would really lend itself to watercolor pencil and watercolor, possibly with gouache on top.  Or, a heavy use of colored pencil, with burnishing.  But, if I’m adding water to it, it needs to be done on Watercolor paper, not Bristol — and I need to figure out how I’d work all those little pine needles and stems in there, if I would at all.

I do have some masking fluid which may be of use, but I’ve never used it, and to be frank, it got a little intimidating after I read of the possibility of latex sensitization due to using liquid latex.  Apparently, the fumes can do something, and I like not reacting to latex gloves — though they’re being used less and less now, in favor of nitrile and some sort of plastic.  The masking fluid I got is supposed to be “hypoallergenic,” but I really…am not sure I can trust that.

I’m thinking of practicing with this, on small paper.  My last attempt was huge, and I think that with this piece, delicate + complex + huge just really made for a lot of work.  Work, which I didn’t have time to finish.

But hey — if I do this small, I very well can make a long, vertical composition…and if I use colored pencil, I won’t have to worry about how to preserve detail…

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

5 thoughts on “That cyclamen piece…”

Leave a Reply

