One image, for now…

Heh!  I finally took photos, today!

I’m going to show you one of the two images which I drew from life, which are…surprisingly enough to me, two of my favorite images from this portfolio.  I am not certain I’ll post everything, simply because I don’t quite like the way some of them turned out, but sitting down to work means the possibility of good work, not the certainty of it, yes?

IMG_1713-ccr72-ww
Study of a silk rose: “Beauty”

I was really surprised when one of my artist friends said that they liked this image best.

I, on the other hand, had seen it through multiple stages, and actually liked it better without color.  This is a piece in which I used a gesture-drawing approach, a loose approach which attempts to record all of a moment at once.

It’s nice to have a subject that sits still, however…

There are a number of layers of graphite under the ink and marker, though it isn’t easy to tell.  I hardly erased at all — I only did so when I was in danger of not being able to tell which of my lines were the intentional ones.

In fact, I was concerned that adding color to this piece via marker, had ruined it (the colors were so strong that they leached everything else out); though I can see some of where other people are coming from, now.  I ended up having to use fineliner to define the petals, because the edges of the petals seemed barely visible after I tried to color the blossoms.

This piece actually does have a meaning, being inspired by the English word, “Beauty,” and how that word in this culture is often associated with perfection to an artificial degree.  (It’s what stuck in my mind after reading the text right before falling asleep.)

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

