Bindings of joy

Before I forget this again, I wanted to note it down, somewhere — where I’ll remember to look for it and see it.

I have the recurring thought of creating a story where my main character is getting married to someone who feeds off of others’ happiness.

I mean, literally:  feeds off of others’ happiness.

This being already has a number of mates, may be rumored to be some sort of supernatural creature.  Cannot survive without others’ happiness, which makes him work hard so that they are happy.  My protagonist is very likely going to be male, but that isn’t going to count for much (other than no possibility of pregnancy).

The main question is whether, when in a situation from which you can’t easily escape, being happy is a fair trade for freedom.

I should flesh this out, offline.  But first, I’ll let you know about my dull, dull day.

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

