Still-life in progress…

The still-life painting I’m working on, which must be finished by Wednesday morning?  I took a photo.  Let me show you it.  😉

Greyscale still life, in progress.
Greyscale still life, in progress.

It looked a lot worse this morning.  At that time, I had the background covered in gesso and a sketch mostly done in white charcoal, plus some of the whitest areas painted in, but that was all.

I can see why our professor wants us to work on easels instead of on a flat surface, like a table — it gives much more freedom of movement.  There are some distortions here which I can see, which probably came from sketching the underdrawing out while the canvas was laying down.  Easels allow the canvas to be laid out in front of one’s body, so that the arc of the sweep of one’s hand doesn’t have to interfere and be corrected for, when drawing straight lines across the canvas.  If I’d done this on an easel, I would have been able to move my entire body so that my lines wouldn’t be unintentionally altered by working flat.

I can also see some errors that are jumping out at me here (particularly with perspective), which I didn’t see in the watercolor version.  (Our prof has us make at least 3-4 thumbnails playing with layout, viewpoint, lighting, etc., then develop one of those thumbnails into a watercolor painting, then take the watercolor painting and transfer the underlying drawing to prepared canvas, then seal the underdrawing, then paint the canvas.)  If I had been thinking, I would have photographed my watercolors at the same time as I photographed this, as it does have to be recorded.

One of the things I did notice with the lighting is that the areas of light and shadow do unify the composition, at least if done correctly.  Everything that’s laid out on the canvas is reacting to the same light sources.

Anyhow, I’m tired.  It’s hot.  I think I’ll go drink some water…

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

