“Camo” color fusion…I need to do some research.

Since I’m going in so many different directions and don’t know, really, which is best — maybe I should just pick what I’m feeling “on” about, and go with it.

Based on a pattern by Carol Wilcox Wells, in _The Art and Elegance of Beadweaving_.
Based on a pattern by Carol Wilcox Wells, in _The Art and Elegance of Beadweaving_.

The photo above is a record of a bracelet I made a little over a year ago.

This is not the actual bracelet, as for that to work, I’d need to finish the ends and make or attach a clasp.  (I’ve found another practice version of this in my stash.)

Gold plate or gold fill would probably look good with this — gold plating would probably suffice, because the metal wouldn’t be worn in a piercing.

I generally don’t like to make toggle clasps with “beaded beads,” as I have a tendency to split seed beads (which beaded beads are made of) by reinforcing the toggle too much.  This is the reason I try not to use size 10 needles with size 11/0 seed beads…which are so much tinier now that I’m older.  When that happens, the toggle has to be scrapped.  It’s also possible to warp toggles by reinforcing them in a non-mindful way…but I haven’t been making these for a while.  (Toggles can get bulky, too, and they’re not always as secure as say, a lobster claw clasp attached to a soldered ring — which is visually cleaner; just more expensive.)

The main reason I photographed this was to record the color and luster combinations, as I found this particular combination of beads to be successful.  This is the “camo” color theme that I mentioned earlier, which I wanted to utilize in the necklace project that I started and then got scared to work on.  (Too many design possibilities makes it difficult for me to choose a path and go through with it, though I do suppose I can always take the thing apart and just be a little bit of thread less.  I hate the disarray that involves, though…)

The thread path used above is a variation of Chevron Stitch published in the book, The Art and Elegance of Beadweaving, © 2002 Carol Wilcox Wells.  I’m not sure if I altered it enough (and I did alter a lot in character, color, texture, visual pattern) to make this legally my own or not, especially as the Variations of this stitch in this section of the book are all extremely basic.  I’m thinking that they’re so basic as to not be owned as one person’s intellectual property — but don’t take that as legal advice.

I probably should check around for books on legality in handcrafts…though I’m thinking that the people targeted by copyright law would be large-scale firms actively exploiting small-scale artists’ designs, not micro-scale crafters making one-offs for family.

One of the reasons I got this book was that the author was good at showing how patterns could be altered for different effects, as versus giving one project “recipe” which involves little to no creative play in order to complete.  Many of these types of books will tell one how to make jewelry just like the pattern designer, but not teach one how to design on one’s own.

I hate this.  I hate, hate, hate this.  I would much rather be taught how to design than be provided with designs.  Teach me to fish, dang it.  It’s the same reason I don’t make my own clothes, because why would I make my own clothes if they’re going to end up like store-bought ones?

I’m not into beading so I can be the manufacturer of someone else’s designs.  This is not the point.  But this lack of legal clarity (and thus, clarity as to whether it’s ethical to sell beadwork in general, given that all of us had to learn somehow, and I doubt all of us learned without any help) is why I got out of beadweaving to begin with.

At the same time, I’m probably trying to construe a law to apply to my situation which was never meant to apply to me.

I should probably get ready for bed…

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

One thought on ““Camo” color fusion…I need to do some research.”

Leave a Reply

