Looking back at records helps, sometimes…

When there’s down time and you don’t know what to do or (maybe even) who you are anymore, maybe it’s a good time to look back over records your past self has left for you.  (Did I ever tell you the reason I write?)

Just looking back through my photos for inspiration...
Late afternoon in Marin County.

This is a photo taken off of Highway 1, just north of San Francisco.  I found it while looking back through my photo archives.  I suppose the thing with all photos is that there are always stories behind them…chance encounters, how one got to be at a certain place at a certain time to take a perfect shot.  This one, I don’t consider perfect, largely because of the roadside markers to warn drivers of the location of the cliff edge, but I was looking for composition this time through.

This photo was taken out of the back seat of a rental van.  We had just come back from a vacation and were driving south on Highway 1 in order to try and connect to a different highway.  Stinson Beach, here, was actually our secondary destination, after we realized that we had taken the wrong turnoff and would not make it to our primary destination before park closure.  There was no immediately visible parking at Stinson Beach, though from a photo I took after passing the turnoff, I can see some spaces in the parking lot.

Because this stretch of Highway 1 is known for being treacherous (probably not as much as the old Devil’s Slide, but still), and we were in a rental car next to the cliff, there was a lot of stress during the time I was taking these photos.  Because our survival did not depend on my attention to the road, I got quite a number of shots.

I have some other thoughts and more photos to search through, but I’ll end this here, and put the other stuff in some different posts.

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

