Practice Zentangle, upload #1

So I know I should really be working on homework (it’s supposed to be up by tomorrow night), but right now I’ve for some reason decided to upload a Zentangle that I liked.  I’m not very far into my workbook — there’s some tension between things being too open and too limited that I’m having trouble with.  But here is one of the Tangles I did that I still like:

One of the Zentangles I did that I actually still like.
Practice Zentangle:  “Printemps”

I’m using Let’s Tangle! by Kathleen Murray.  It is really a guided walk through the sandbox, if Zentangles were a park, and other art forms, the outside world.  I got it initially because, IIRC, I was going on a vacation and didn’t know which Zentangle book to get (plus, I knew relatively nothing about Zentangles or Zendoodles).

Normally, I do well with structure — or at least, better so than without it.  But I’m thinking that I’m going to have to break some rules and skip around in the text in order for this to hold my attention.  Online, I’ve seen a good number of examples of what can be done with this form, and most of it is not as rigid as it’s being presented in this book.

If nothing else, I’m thinking that it should help me with problems of composition.  And hey, maybe it could account for some of the meditation I’m supposed to be doing!

(I kind of wonder if art work in general can be used for meditation, or just art work which is repetitive in nature…)

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

