“Work on the script, first”

This is not going to be a long post.

I just wanted to make sure that I preserve in my records a bit of advice which was handed to me today:

If I want to make a graphic novel, I should work on the script first, before working on the art.  This is because I’ll go through so many revisions of the script that it will take a lot longer to work this out if I try (as a first project) to work on the art and script at the same time.

Right now I have a vague idea of what I want to do with this — I’ve posted more, elsewhere, and can probably review that if it comes to it.  But I’m thinking that some kind of outline, at least of key plot points, is in order.  After I get what the story is about, I can start filling it out, little by little.

I’ll try to make more of these short posts, and not necessarily try and tie myself to one huge post a day.  The latter can be intimidating, yes?  For me, too.

Right now, I think I’ll get some rest…

Published by

paintedstone

Haru ("Codey") is a second-year Master's student in Library and Information Science, hoping to find a way to fuse their desire to make the world a better place and to finance their art.

Leave a Reply

